People and Academic Environment

At our PhD program, IMPRS-ESM, you will be part of several circles that you could draw on for inspiring exchange, beginning with your work group as well as your fellow PhD candidates at our institute and cooperating institutes.

At the same time, you will be part of a larger, interdisciplinary scientific workforce. As a young researcher you will interact scientifically with PostDocs and senior scientists of the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, the Universität Hamburg, and various cooperating institutes, national and international.

As IMPRS-ESM doctoral candidate you and your research will also profit from being part of a greater multi-disciplinary network of young scientists within the Max Planck Society. You will benefit from the work of the program’s PhD representatives, the services that come with the greater multi-disciplinary network of the Max Planck Society and its Max Planck PhDnet.

Locally, all of our PhD candidates are automatically member of one of the Universität Hamburg graduate schools that also offer a range of opportunities.

PhD representatives

  • Serving as contact and spokespersons of all doctoral candidates in IMPRS-ESM.
  • Elected by their fellow PhD candidates and serving for one year (optional two).

IMPRS-ESM PhD representatives help to maintain a prosperous academic and work environment for doctoral candidates. They mainly communicate important and critical issues within the group of doctoral candidates, but also between them and the leaders of our doctoral program, including the IMPRS Office.

from left
to right    
Dominic Hillenkötter
+49 (0)40 41173-116   
Luisa Gensch
+49 (0)40 41173-158   
Kenneth Chan
+49 (0)40 42838-5331   
Janina Tschirschwitz
+49 (0)40 41173-147   

Doctoral candidates

Our PhD candidates have come from all parts of the world. They bring a broad variety of academic training and skills.

Name Email ResearchGroup Phone Address
Alastrue de Asenjo, Eduardo eduardo.alastrue-de-asenjo@mpimet.mpg.de Climate Modeling Group 42838 2604 B347
Andernach, Malena malena.andernach@mpimet.mpg.de Ocean Physics 41173 193 B117
Bayley, Clara clara.bayley@mpimet.mpg.de Drivers of Tropical Circulation 41173 317 B421
Behncke, Jacqueline jacqueline.behncke@mpimet.mpg.de Observations, Analysis and Synthesis 41173 413 B118
Breunig, Emelie emelie.breunig@mpimet.mpg.de Experimental Oceanography 42838 9540 tbd
Burt, Daniel daniel.burt@mpimet.mpg.de Ocean Biogeochemistry 41173 193 B117
Campos, Hernan hernan.campos@mpimet.mpg.de Drivers of tropical circulation 41173 183 B412
Carnier Casaroli, Lucas lucas.casaroli@mpimet.mpg.de Ocean Biogeochemistry 41173 158 B222
Chan, Kenneth kenneth.chan@mpimet.mpg.de Drivers of tropical circulation 42838 5331 G1639
Deutloff, Jakob jakob.deutloff@mpimet.mpg.de Drivers of tropical circulation 41173 147 (42838 8121) B424 (G1529)
Dietz, Victoria victoria.dietz@mpimet.mpg.de Earth System Modeling and Predictions 41173 413 B118
Ding, Hairu hairu.ding@mpimet.mpg.de Global Circulation and Climate 41173 183 B412
Dorff, Henning henning.dorff@uni-hamburg.de Atmospheric Measurements / Process Modelling 42838 4920 G1631
Fan, Hongdou fan.hongdou@mpimet.mpg.de Climate Modeling Group 42838 5656 B345
Fiedler, Lukas lukas.fiedler@mpimet.mpg.de Climate Modeling Group 42838 7481 B337
Franke, Henning henning.franke@mpimet.mpg.de Wave Driven Circulations 41173 104 B405
Gensch, Luisa luisa.gensch@mpimet.mpg.de Sustainability and Climate Risks 42838 5744 GB 208.1
Glöckner, Helene helene.gloeckner@mpimet.mpg.de Global Circulation and Climate 414473 317 B421
Gnanaraj, Abisha abisha.gnanaraj@mpimet.mpg.de Global Circulation and Climate 41173 386 B429
Grunau, Jonas jonas.sebastian.grunau@uni-hamburg.de Sustainability Economics 42838 3288 VMP 2136
Guenther, Moritz moritz.guenther@mpimet.mpg.de Global Circulation and Climate 41173 404 B307
Häfele, Sophie sophie.haefele@mpimet.mpg.de Climate Modelling 42838 5656 B345
Hillenkötter, Dominic dominic.hillenkoetter@mpimet.mpg.de Complex Modelling and Extreme Computing 41173 116 B206
Karvinen, Mikael mikael.karvinen@mpimet.mpg.de Director’s Research Group (cva) 41173 116 B206
Kourkouraidou, Zoi zoi.kourkouraidou@mpimet.mpg.de Ocean Energetics 41173 158 B222
Liu, Jun zhijun.liu@mpimet.mpg.de Climate-Biosphere Interactions 42838 tbd G1704
Liu, Quan quan.liu@mpimet.mpg.de Director’s Research Group (cva) 41173 205 B227
Peinado Bravo, Angel angel.peinado@mpimet.mpg.de Computational Infrastructure and Model Development 41173 104 B313
Pistor, Raphael raphael.pistor@mpimet.mpg.de Small-Scale Atmospheric Modeling 42838 5083 G1604
Rapanague Sepulveda, Maria Jesus maria-jesus.rapanague@mpimet.mpg.de Director Research Group (cva) 41174 168 B127
Reinken, Constanze constanze.reinken@mpimet.mpg.de Climate-Biogeosphere Interaction 42838 542 G1704
Ritschel, Markus markus.ritschel@mpimet.mpg.de Sea Ice 42838 6518 B240
Roemer, Florian florian.roemer@uni-hamburg.de Climate, Radiation, Remote Sensing 42838-8123 G1533
Salinas Matus, Mariana mariana.salinas@mpimet.mpg.de Ocean Biogeochemistry 41173 145 B127
Schanz (geb. Machnitzki), Tobias tobias.machnitzki@hereon.de Model-Driven Machine Learning 04152 87 2154 hereon
Schaumann, Felix felix.schaumann@mpimet.mpg.de Environmental Economics 42838 3223 VMP5-2133
Schmidt, Luca luca.schmidt@mpimet.mpg.de Climate Surface Interaction 41173 388 B419
Sharma, Shivani shivani.sharma@hereon.de Model-Driven Machine Learning 04152 87-2156 hereon
Ssebandeke, John john.ssebandeke@mpimet.mpg.de Climate Energetics 41174 168 B222
Thazhissery Pavanan aiswarya.thazhissery-pavanan@mpimet.mpg.de Climate statistics and climate extremes 41173 7028 GB 105
Tschirschwitz, Janina janina.tschirschwitz@mpimet.mpg.de Wave Driven Circulations 41173 147 B424
Vicari, Robert robert.vicari@mpimet.mpg.de Cloud-wave coupling 41173 466 B405
Winkler, Marius marius.winkler@mpimet.mpg.de Climate Surface Interaction 41173 106 B307
Yoon, Arim arim.yoon@mpimet.mpg.de Climate Surface Interaction 41173 386 B429
Zinchenko, Vadim vadim.zinchenko@hereon.de Model-Driven Machine Learning   hereon
Logo PhDnet

Through the Max Planck PhDnet, IMPRS-ESM PhD representatives connect with those from other Max Planck Institutes. PhDnet facilitates collaboration among PhD candidates from more than 80 Max Planck Institutes within the whole Max Planck Society and serves as a voice of all doctoral candidates at the administrative level of the Max Planck Society.

Currently the IMPRS-ESM PhD representative is:

Tschirschwitz, Janina
+49 (0)40 41173-147 
janina.tschirschwitz@we dont want spammpimet.mpg.de

figure: stylized doctor hat

Max Planck Society

We are part of the Max Planck Network - click to learn which support PhD candidates receive of the Max Planck Society.

UHH Graduate Schools

Depending on their individual research field, IMPRS-ESM doctoral candidates are also members of the Universität Hamburg graduate schools and can take part in their activities and services.

MIN Graduate School

WISO Graduate School

More Content

About our institute

Our institute is an internationally known institute for climate research. The goal of the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology is to understand how and why the climate on our planet is changing.

Read more

Photo of clouds

Insights into the thermal structure of the tropical troposphere

When you feel the wind on your face, see clouds in the sky, and watch a bird flap its wings in flight, you’re experiencing the troposphere. It is the…

luminous art installation against the backdrop of Stockholm at night

Wind of Barbados turned to light in Stockholm

Nobel Week Lights 2023 kicked off in Stockholm on Monday. The Max Planck Institute for Meteorology (MPI-M) provides data from its Barbados Cloud…