People and Academic Environment

At our PhD program, IMPRS-ESM, you will be part of several circles that you could draw on for inspiring exchange, beginning with your work group as well as your fellow PhD candidates at our institute and cooperating institutes.

At the same time, you will be part of a larger, interdisciplinary scientific workforce. As a young researcher you will interact scientifically with PostDocs and senior scientists of the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, the Universität Hamburg, and various cooperating institutes, national and international.

As IMPRS-ESM doctoral candidate you and your research will also profit from being part of a greater multi-disciplinary network of young scientists within the Max Planck Society. You will benefit from the work of the program’s PhD representatives, the services that come with the greater multi-disciplinary network of the Max Planck Society and its Max Planck PhDnet.

Locally, all of our PhD candidates are automatically member of one of the Universität Hamburg graduate schools that also offer a range of opportunities.

PhD representatives

  • Serving as contact and spokespersons of all doctoral candidates in IMPRS-ESM.
  • Elected by their fellow PhD candidates and serving for one year (optional two).

IMPRS-ESM PhD representatives help to maintain a prosperous academic and work environment for doctoral candidates. They mainly communicate important and critical issues within the group of doctoral candidates, but also between them and the leaders of our doctoral program, including the IMPRS Office.

from left
to right    
Dominic Hillenkötter
+49 (0)40 41173-116   
Luisa Gensch
+49 (0)40 41173-158   
Kenneth Chan
+49 (0)40 42838-5331   
Janina Tschirschwitz
+49 (0)40 41173-147   

Doctoral candidates

Our PhD candidates have come from all parts of the world. They bring a broad variety of academic training and skills.

Name ResearchGroup Email
Alastrue de Asenjo, Eduardo Climate Modeling Group eduardo.alastrue-de-asenjo@mpimet.mpg.de
Andernach, Malena Ocean Physics malena.andernach@mpimet.mpg.de
Bayley, Clara Drivers of Tropical Circulation clara.bayley@mpimet.mpg.de
Behncke, Jacqueline Observations, Analysis and Synthesis jacqueline.behncke@mpimet.mpg.de
Breunig, Emelie Experimental Oceanography emelie.breunig@mpimet.mpg.de
Campos, Hernan Drivers of tropical circulation hernan.campos@mpimet.mpg.de
Carnier Casaroli, Lucas Ocean Biogeochemistry lucas.casaroli@mpimet.mpg.de
Chan, Kenneth Drivers of tropical circulation kenneth.chan@mpimet.mpg.de
Deutloff, Jakob Drivers of tropical circulation jakob.deutloff@mpimet.mpg.de
Dietz, Victoria Earth System Modeling and Predictions victoria.dietz@mpimet.mpg.de
Ding, Hairu Global Circulation and Climate hairu.ding@mpimet.mpg.de
Dorff, Henning Atmospheric Measurements / Process Modelling henning.dorff@uni-hamburg.de
Fan, Hongdou Climate Modeling Group fan.hongdou@mpimet.mpg.de
Fiedler, Lukas Climate Modeling Group lukas.fiedler@mpimet.mpg.de
Filippou, Danai Modeling the carbon cycle in the Earth system danai.filippou@mpimet.mpg.de
Gensch, Luisa Sustainability and Climate Risks luisa.gensch@mpimet.mpg.de
Glöckner, Helene Global Circulation and Climate helene.gloeckner@mpimet.mpg.de
Gnanaraj, Abisha Global Circulation and Climate abisha.gnanaraj@mpimet.mpg.de
Grunau, Jonas Sustainability Economics jonas.sebastian.grunau@uni-hamburg.de
Guenther, Moritz Global Circulation and Climate moritz.guenther@mpimet.mpg.de
Häfele, Sophie Climate Modelling sophie.haefele@mpimet.mpg.de
Hillenkötter, Dominic Complex Modelling and Extreme Computing dominic.hillenkoetter@mpimet.mpg.de
Karvinen, Mikael Director’s Research Group (cva) mikael.karvinen@mpimet.mpg.de
Kourkouraidou, Zoi Ocean Energetics zoi.kourkouraidou@mpimet.mpg.de
Lee, Doseok Ocean Dynamics doseok.lee@mpimet.mpg.de
Liu, Jun Climate-Biosphere Interactions zhijun.liu@mpimet.mpg.de
Liu, Quan Director’s Research Group (cva) quan.liu@mpimet.mpg.de
Mithal, Vidur Sustainability and Climate Risks vidur.mithal@mpimet.mpg.de
Mosso, Andrea Climate Energetics andrea.mosso@mpimet.mpg.de
Peinado Bravo, Angel Computational Infrastructure and Model Development angel.peinado@mpimet.mpg.de
Peterhans, Vincent Stratified Turbulence in the Middle Atmosphere vincent.peterhans@mpimet.mpg.de
Pistor, Raphael Small-Scale Atmospheric Modeling raphael.pistor@mpimet.mpg.de
Rapanague Sepulveda, Maria Jesus Director Research Group (cva) maria-jesus.rapanague@mpimet.mpg.de
Reinken, Constanze Climate-Biogeosphere Interaction constanze.reinken@mpimet.mpg.de
Robbins Blanch, Nina Atmospheric Turbulence and Boundary Layers nina.robbins@mpimet.mpg.de
Römer, Florian Climate, Radiation, Remote Sensing florian.roemer@uni-hamburg.de
Salinas Matus, Mariana Ocean Biogeochemistry mariana.salinas@mpimet.mpg.de
Schaumann, Felix Environmental Economics felix.schaumann@mpimet.mpg.de
Schimmer, Rolf Director Research Group rolf.schimmer@mpimet.mpg.de
Schulz, Marius Climate Surface Interaction marius.schulz@mpimet.mpg.de
Sharma, Shivani Model-Driven Machine Learning shivani.sharma@hereon.de
Thazhissery Pavanan Climate statistics and climate extremes aiswarya.thazhissery-pavanan@mpimet.mpg.de
Tschirschwitz, Janina Wave Driven Circulations janina.tschirschwitz@mpimet.mpg.de
Winkler, Marius Climate Surface Interaction marius.winkler@mpimet.mpg.de
Yoon, Arim Climate Surface Interaction arim.yoon@mpimet.mpg.de
Zinchenko, Vadim Model-Driven Machine Learning vadim.zinchenko@hereon.de
Logo PhDnet

Through the Max Planck PhDnet, IMPRS-ESM PhD representatives connect with those from other Max Planck Institutes. PhDnet facilitates collaboration among PhD candidates from more than 80 Max Planck Institutes within the whole Max Planck Society and serves as a voice of all doctoral candidates at the administrative level of the Max Planck Society.

Currently the IMPRS-ESM PhD representative is:

Tschirschwitz, Janina
+49 (0)40 41173-147 
janina.tschirschwitz@we dont want spammpimet.mpg.de

figure: stylized doctor hat

Max Planck Society

We are part of the Max Planck Network - click to learn which support PhD candidates receive of the Max Planck Society.

UHH Graduate Schools

Depending on their individual research field, IMPRS-ESM doctoral candidates are also members of the Universität Hamburg graduate schools and can take part in their activities and services.

MIN Graduate School

WISO Graduate School

More Content

About our institute

Our institute is an internationally known institute for climate research. The goal of the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology is to understand how and why the climate on our planet is changing.

Read more

Figure 1: Observed of sea surface temperatures trends from 1979-2022 in degrees Celsius per decade.

Changes to the Warming Pattern in the Tropical Pacific

The Earth is rapidly warming in response to human-induced greenhouse gas emissions. The warming is however not uniform, with some areas of the Earth…

[Translate to English:]

Chao Li appointed Distinguished Guest Professor at the Chinese Academy of Sciences

Dr. Chao Li has been awarded a Distinguished Guest Professorship at the prestigious Institute of Atmospheric Physics (IAP), the Chinese Academy of…