Structure of the Institute

The Max Planck Institute for Meteorology comprises three departments: Climate Physics, Climate Dynamics and Climate Variability. Each of these departments is headed by a director who, as a scientific member of the Max Planck Society, is responsible for his/her own research activities. The directors jointly decide on the affairs of the institute and take turns in dressing the office of managing director every three years. Since 2020, this has been Prof. Bjorn Stevens.

The institute runs an international PhD program together with the University of Hamburg and cooperates with independent research groups. Several central service units support the work of the scientific departments. The institute's research work is reviewed by an international scientific advisory board, which reports to the president of the Max Planck Society at regular intervals. The Board of Trustees is responsible for promoting the relationship between the institute and its social environment as well as the public. Its members include representatives from the domains of politics, business, science, the media and other individuals who are particularly committed to the institute's concerns or who can make a significant contribution to its support.

Our structure in the organization chart

Important Contact Persons


Marco Giorgetta
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173-358
marco.giorgetta@we dont want

Johann Jungclaus
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173-109
johann.jungclaus@we dont want

Further information relating to the topic: Good Scientific Practice

Scientific Staff Representative

Chao Li
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173-458 dont want


Postdoc Representative

Antoine Leblond
Tel.: +49 (0)40 41173-150


Equal Opportunity Officers

Cathy Li
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173-208 dont want

Heike Konow
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173-105
heike.konow@we dont want

Elina Plesca
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173-105
elina.plesca@we dont want


Further information relating to the topic: Equal Opportunities

PhD Representatives

Janina Tschirschwitz
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173 - 147
janina.tschirschwitz@we dont want

Dominic Hillenkötter
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173 - 116
dominic.hillenkoetter@we dont want

Luisa Gensch
Phone: +49 (0)40 41173 - 158
luisa.gensch@we dont want

Kenneth Chan
Phone: +49 (0)40 42838 5331
kenneth.chan@we dont want


More Content

Department Climate Physics

Our research focuses on understanding how atmospheric water conditions the behavior of the climate system. This leads to efforts to answer specific questions such as how cloud processes set the planetary albedo ...

Read more

Climate Variability

Our department uses models, observations, and theory to investigate the role of the ocean in climate variability and climate change on all timescales from hours to millennia ...

Read more


The International Max Planck Research School on Earth System Modelling (IMPRS-ESM) offers a structured, interdisciplinary and international program for graduate students who want to earn a PhD degree.

Read more