Executive Committee

The IMPRS-ESM Executive Committee (ExeCom) provides scientific direction to the School and the Coordinator. The ExeCom makes all appropriate decisions regarding the School affairs, such as the selection of doctoral candidates and the invitation of guests, the organisation of courses and retreats. The ExeCom monitors quality and timely progress of individual doctoral studies, as well as the advanced academic training followed by each doctoral candidate during the doctoral term. The ExeCom takes responsibility for the School's financial decisions and represents the School to the outside.

Representatives of the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology and the cooperating partner institutes of the University of Hamburg (Institute for Meteorology, Institute of Oceanography, Institute for Economy, and the Research Unit for Sustainability and Global Change). The Head of the School is a Director of the MPI-M, the Deputy Head is a Professor of the participating UHH Faculties. The ExeCom delegates tasks to the Head of the IMPRS-ESM as it deems appropriate.


Prof. Dr. Jochem Marotzke                                    

Email:          jochem.marotzke@we dont want spammpimet.mpg.de

Phone:       +49-40-41173-440

Secretary:  +49-40-41173-311/467

Fax:             +49-40-41173-366

Room no.:   B215


Mailing Address

Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Bundesstr. 53
D-20146 Hamburg

Deputy Head of IMPRS-ESM

Prof. Dr. Uwe A. Schneider                                           

Email:         uwe.schneider@uni-hamburg.de

Phone:       +49-40-42838-6593

Fax:            +49-40-42838-7009

Room no.:   GB203


Mailing Address

University of Hamburg
Research Unit Sustainability and Global Change (FNU)
Grindelberg 5
D-20144 Hamburg